2018 STA Annual Conference & Innovation Awards Proceedings


29 Nov 2018 STA Annual Conference & Innovation Awards Proceedings

Time Programme
11:00 – 11:30 Session 1

Presentation of the STA Survey on the Key Challenges for the Smart Transportation Infrastructures of the Future

Presentation of results per thematic area (Mobility, Safety & Security, Sustainability, and Financing) – Dr Raffaele Alfonsi, Technical Coordinator, STA

 11:30 – 13:30 Session 2

Keynote presentations: Bringing Smart Transportation Infrastructures into Reality

Best-practice guidelines for roads adaptation to climate change (STA Discussion Paper 2/2018)  – Dr Elena de la Peña, Vice -President & Chair TC1, STA & Deputy Director General for Technical Affairs, Spanish Road Association

First results of the SMARTI (Sustainable, Multi-Functional, Automated & Resilient Transport Infrastructures) European Training Network  Dr Davide Lo Presti, Principal Research Fellow, University of Nottingham and 15 SMARTI- ETN fellows Case Studies 1  & Case Studies 2

Road Infrastructure for Road Vehicles Automation –  Ms Maria Cristina Marolda, Member of the Board in charge of International Relations at Association of European Transport (AET)

Condition Based Monitoring (CBM), Asset Health Monitoring (AHM) and Predictive Maintenance for Railway Power Infrastructure – Mr Laurent Poutrain, COO, Vizimax

A Reflection on Enabling Connected Mobility – Converging paths: New Generation Networks and Cooperative ITS  Mr Jorge Alfonso, Researcher, Technical University of Madrid

13:30 – 14:00 2018 Annual Innovation Awards

Person of the Year (ex-aequo):

Dr Aniceto Zaragoza, Director General, Spanish Cement Association (OFICEMEN), Spain

Mr Dirk Van Loo, CEO, COPRO, Belgium

Best Innovation Project/Solution (ex-aequo):

Sustainable Pavements & Railways Initial Training Network (SUP&R ITN) – Award collected by Professor Gordon Airey, Director of Nottingham Transportation Engineering Centre and Dr Davide Lo Presti, Principal Research Fellow, University of Nottingham

Apertum, Real-Time Guide to Step-Free Mobility – Award collected by Mr Francisco Aletta, Innovation Manager, Etelätär Innovation OÜ